British food – can it be good?

Sorry I haven’t blogged for a couple of days, especially after I saw that on Saturday I had the highest number of readers to my blog yet! I was really sick over the weekend, I think it was something I ate which gave me food poisoning.

Thankfully I’m feeling much better now. Talking of food, I was thinking about British food over the past few days. Why do so many people have such negative connotations when they think of British food? What is traditional British food? I think of bangers and mash, fish and chips, Sunday roast and Yorkshire puddings – what’s so bad about that?

I love watching celebrity cooking shows but it seems as though so many celebrity chefs are against cooking their own nation’s food. Gordan Ramsay loves his Indian and Jamie Oliver has toured the US and released books on Italian cooking – yet they tend not to cook English food. With the exception of River Cottage, why are they so against it?

Perhaps it’s because British food doesn’t really have the best reputation. French food is well known to be outstanding and other nations, such as Germany, Italy and even the USA are proud of their food. Australian food doesn’t have a bad reputation – quite the contrary – but our cuisine is hard to define.

Besides from the obvious – the BBQ – what else is uniquely Australian? You can hardly call Vegemite a meal. Anyway, I’ve decided that because I’m living in the UK I’m going to try and learn more about the local food. In some ways it is a lot like Australian food – it is so multicultural (well London is anyway) that the curries from Brick Lane have been said to be better than those from India.

Anyone local reading this – please give me some advice as to what British food I could cook up!

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “British food – can it be good?”

  1. sophie knowles Says:

    Finding food that’s quintessentially English might be quite difficult these days..to be fair try and find anything quintessentially English and it’s quite difficult in our cultural melting pot! I find-like English dialects- you can find lots of different English cuisine depending on where you are in the country- mushy peas in the north or ‘balm cakes’ in midlands or cream teas in the south. I would say the traditional focus is usually on good simple but “wholesome” food- something i love about Jamie Oliver- he harks back to this tradition in alot of his cook books, his own restaurant and dinners for kids in schools

    • carmentheaussie Says:

      That’s so true about the differing cuisines depending on what part of the country you are in. I think that I’ll have to venture out a bit more to other towns aside from London and try the different dishes for myself!

  2. cjrutter Says:

    ooh love – we’re going to be having some River Cottage on Friday night apparently…

    So you want English…well obvs – bangers and mash – need good bangers though.

    Fish and chips
    Pies – any kind really – chicken and mushroom, steak and ale, steak and kidney…
    Hotpot – you’ll love a bit of that!!
    Toad-in-the-hole
    Cornish pasty
    Shepherd’s and cottage pie (obvs)

    Any form of Roast – I would like to think of as british – yummy, lamb, chicken, turkey, pork, beef…duck…

    Also – you can’t forget the English breakfast. Everyone loves one of those – but, minus the black pudding for me though….

    Despite our national dish being curry – I think, that we actually have a great array of food and thanks to our diversity we can incorporate and enjoy other dishes too!!

    BBQs – as much as we love them – the weather doesn’t always work in our favour!

    • carmentheaussie Says:

      I would consider pies to be more Australian than British! 🙂 The Cornish pasty is definately delish though. One thing about the British BBQ that I’ve discovered is those little portable ones that people use to smoke out the parks in the summertime. I’ve never seen that in Australia before – probably because we have BBQs built in to the parks, next to the playgrounds 🙂

  3. Kate Says:

    The best thing about foxtel in Australia is all the British cooking shows. From Nigella to Jamie, Market Kitchen to the Hairy Bikers I love them all 🙂 I wish Australia had quality cooking shows like the UK – or even decent shows about women and their brilliant home cooking!

    Good luck Carmen – your blog is great! x

  4. Is Australia’s national dish salt and pepper squid? « Carmen the Aussie's Blog Says:

    […] do you think is Australia’s national dish? I’ve blogged about British food in the past – https://carmentheaussie.wordpress.com/2010/01/19/british-food-can-it-be-good/ – but what about Aussie […]

Leave a Reply

