Ah London…you’re beginning to grow on me

London town

My friend is coming to visit me today and stay for a few days. It’s her first time in London and I’m really looking forward to showing her around.

I must be starting to become a London local because I was thinking to all the bars and places we could take her and then I realised that I know this city a lot better than I did a year ago. It has taken awhile, but at long last it’s starting to feel like home.

When I first arrived – I’ll be honest – I didn’t really warm to London. It’s one of those cities that seem to grow on you gradually. Now I love it. It’s not the prettiest of cities. You don’t walk down the streets and marvel at the cuteness of it, like you might do in a city such as Paris. London is grimier than that. But there is a certain something about the city that excites me. The hustle and bustle, the old pubs that have people spilling out of them onto the pavement, the immaculate terraced houses of Notting Hill and the rougher streets of Tooting. It’s all exciting and no matter what the day or the time, you can find something to do and somewhere to go.

Londoners also aren’t the warmest of people. They’re very reserved and it’s hard to get to know them. Once you do break the barrier down though, they can be very friendly people. And after a year of being here I’m slowly starting to break the barrier and become friends with the Brits. (Most of my friends over here are Australian, even though I’m ashamed to admit it!)

So when my friend said she was coming to visit, I picked my brain and organised her an itinerary. We’ll be visiting places where we can get 2 for 1 cocktails and we’ll be eating at restaurants where I can get 50 per cent off because I know if you visit a certain website beforehand you can get a voucher. Living in London is expensive, but if you’ve been living here awhile you can learn to get around the expense.

I’m even becoming a local at a bar in Covent Garden because I go there nearly every week for cocktails and my boyfriend and I celebrated our birthdays there. Will definitely have to pay that bar a visit when my friend arrives…they practically know me by name there!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

