Crazy weather in Australia but it’s calm in London…that makes a change

Outside my dad's work in Subiaco

Came into work this morning to be greeted by an array of status updates on Facebook from people claiming that their houses were caving in and their cars were being swept away by floods. No, this isn’t some crazy weather in Indonesia, it was happening in my home town of Perth, Western Australia.

My partner’s brother came online and said that his car had been severely damaged by hail stones the size of golf balls. His front windscreen had been smashed and a lot of the panelling bent. Even my mum came online and posted a video of the weather demolishing our garden. Thankfully our house didn’t flood but my dad’s workplace did because of a blocked drain. (You can view the video of my house in the attachment).

A Facebook group called ‘I Survived the Great Storm of Perth 22/3/2010’ already has more than 18,000 members, which I’ve got to say is pretty funny. Talk about melodramatic!! But then again, it’s probably the event of the year there. (Sorry, I’m sure I’m going to offend some people with that one.)

It’s the first day of spring here in London, and as I came to work this morning the sun was shining brightly and the birds were chirping. Although still chilly, it was a far cry from the storm they were experiencing in Perth. For once I was on the sunny side of the world. And it feels good!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Crazy weather in Australia but it’s calm in London…that makes a change”

  1. Kim Fisher Says:

    Talk about melodramatic!! But then again, it’s probably the event of the year there. (Sorry, I’m sure I’m going to offend some people with that one.)

    uh yeah. jacob’s ladder collapsed into houses, the emergency department in joondalup collapsed, people’s homes are ruined, a lot of uwa is gone. so not too melodramatic.

    i got stuck in it for 3 hours in my car.

  2. Claire Says:

    Did it even make international news? I didn’t even know this happened….but hope your family is ok…

Leave a Reply

