Domestic violence – why does no one talk about it?

I heard a scary statistic yesterday. In the UK, more people aged between 16 and 44 die or become disabled from domestic violence than from cancer or traffic accidents. This is really shocking to me.

On average two people a week are killed by their partners or former partners and one incident is reported to police every minute. In fact, one in four women will suffer from domestic violence at some point in their lives.

Thankfully, I am one of the lucky ones and have never had a partner be violent towards me. I know of those who have had it happen to them though. One of my colleagues in my teens once came in to work with a huge black eye. It was so bad she had to have stitches in her brow and the blood vessels in her eye had burst.

At first she said that she had just fallen down the stairs but in the end it turned out that her boyfriend had hit her so hard in the shower that she had been knocked out. Everyone at work was furious and was trying to persuade her to leave him. To my dismay, she didn’t. She had very low self-esteem.

But it’s not only women with low self-esteem who suffer. A friend of mine who is brimming with confidence was also harmed by an ex-boyfriend. He broke into her house and dragged her across the floor by her hair. He then threatened to kill her and put her in the basement where her dad would come home to find her. Thankfully, the neighbours heard the commotion and called the police.

When I was working as a journalist in Australia, I did a piece on domestic violence and visited women in a shelter. I wasn’t allowed to reveal where the shelter was, in case some of the men found out and hunted a woman down. Imagine living your life in fear like that?

I’m not sure how we are to fix the worldwide problem of domestic violence. All I know is that we need to spread awareness about it and make sure that people suffering get help and shelter from those who are violent towards them.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Domestic violence – why does no one talk about it?”

  1. Pat Aust Says:

    Very good piece. Domestic and dating violence are getting worse it seems, or at least, better publicized which is a good thing. I volunteer weekly at a D.V. shelter where I’ve provided groups for kids 3-teens for the last 3 years. I’m also a writer and agented and out of this ongoing experience has come my Young Adult ms. SHELTER, set in D.V. shelter. My blog deals with the effect of D.V. on kids. Many of these kids follow the same path as their parents and start dating and in d.v. situations by middle school. Teaching kids that love is respect, not hurtful, is soooo important. Let’s keep the info coming!
    http://bit.ly/ruralwriter.

  2. carmentheaussie Says:

    Thank you for your comment. Yes, the more we talk about it, hopefully will mean the more action that will be taken to fight and prevent this awful crime.

  3. games Says:

    Thank you for your post keep doing

Leave a Reply

