Off the booze for a month… can I do it?

Bye, bye, bye

I don’t know why, but I seem to drink an awful lot more in the UK than I ever did in Australia. I can put it away a lot better than I ever used to be able to in Oz too.

Perhaps it has something to do with the fact that I never drive in the UK, so I don’t have to worry about drink driving. Whenever we go out we get a cab/bus/tube home so that’s not an issue. On Saturday night I drank a bottle of wine and five gin and tonics and I was hardly drunk. I didn’t really even have a hangover the next day.

A couple of years ago, if I had drunk the same amount I would’ve had my head in the toilet the next day, no doubt about it. So how has my tolerance increased so dramatically?

Is it because I drink a lot more and therefore it takes me longer to get drunk? Or perhaps I’m fatter and have more places to store it? Or maybe I’m just old (and therefore can handle my booze – now that’s a sad thought).

Whatever it is, I don’t really seem to mind. I hated suffering from hangovers every second weekend when I was young. I always seemed to pull up worse than everyone else. Now I can drink everyone else under the table.

When I Skyped my mum yesterday, after yet another bender, she said that she was worried about me. I sighed and said that yes, perhaps it’s time for me to stay off the booze. I said maybe I would detox for a month. She said that this was a good idea, ‘just to see that I can do it’.

Oh, come on now, it’s not like I’m an alcoholic. I mean, I can live without booze. So I’ve decided to go cold turkey. But then I checked my calendar… going out with friends this weekend, another friend’s birthday next weekend, Spain on holiday the week after that. Oh dear, this is going to be harder than I thought…

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Off the booze for a month… can I do it?”

  1. Pat Aust Says:

    Addictions are tough and they are progressive. If you’re wondering about rehab and someone’s worried about you, there’s a problem. Good luck!

  2. carmentheaussie Says:

    oh I’m not addicted! That’s why I’m going cold turkey – to prove it!

  3. Kim Fisher Says:

    my theory is, even though you’re living in london, you are still a bit in ‘holiday mode’

  4. rat Says:

    You can do it. Now is better than later because you’ll always have something planned for the weekend that qualifies as an excuse to cut down at a later date 🙂

    x

  5. esther Says:

    you can, but why would you? ah well, maybe it gets the creative juices flowing. like the jewellery
    bussi from istanbul
    esther

Leave a Reply

