A shocking week.

Wow, what a week it has been. Highs and lows and a lot of crazy times in between.

First of all, this time last week we were told that our landlords were selling our flat and we had a week to get out. Panic ensued, because we were leaving for Spain for six days the following day and there was no way we’d have time to find a new place.

The good thing about our house is that the rent is super cheap and all bills are included. The bad thing is that we don’t have a contract, we pay the money under our landlord’s door and our landlord is obviously not paying tax for the rental of our place.

Anyway, we managed to negotiate two weeks by pleading with them. The next day we left for Spain, which I will write about later with all the images included. We were having an amazing time away, cruising the northern coast in our rented campervan when we got a text from our housemate…

Our landlord had died! Dropped dead on a Friday night. Not sure what happened, but I think it was a heart attack. So sad, he was only in his early 40s. He was also a really nice guy who fixed anything that broke in our house ASAP.

We were seriously shocked and felt very bad for his girlfriend who he left behind. So tragic. 😦

Now we’re not sure if we have to move out after all. We’re not sure whether the house is being sold because I assume there’s a will to be sorted?

We got back from Spain really late last night and I’m absolutely knackered at work this morning. We’re having a meeting with our landlord’s girlfriend tonight, so time will tell whether we’ll be homeless (or not) this time next week.

Life is crazy and sometimes it throws odd balls at you. Travelling around in Spain and enjoying the sunshine made me realise just how important it is to live every day to the fullest and do everything you want to do, as soon as you can. Who knows, you may not be here tomorrow.

You have to ask yourself, ‘If I were to die tomorrow, would I be happy with all I’ve done?’ I can safely say that yes, I’m very pleased with the life I’ve lived. I do hope my landlord felt the same.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “A shocking week.”

  1. Pat Aust Says:

    WOW! You have had a rough week. Kind of puts in perspective my party for 60 on Mem’l Day weekend, because I had help AND a place to live.
    Hope you don’t lose your apt.

Leave a Reply

