Prince William and Kate to get hitched… wish I had that kind of money to splash out on our wedding!

The happy couple - check out that bling! It was Diana's engagement ring, hopefully it'll bring Kate more luck than it did Diana

So Prince William and Kate Middleton have finally got engaged. Poor Kate, she had to wait nine years to get that shiny emerald on her finger. It must feel like a victory now she’s finally wearing it.

A lot of UK taxpayers are whinging because they don’t reckon they should foot the bill for the royal wedding but I don’t mind. The event is going to bring in big bucks for tourism so I’m all for it.

Although apparently Kate and ‘Big Willie’ (as Kate apparently likes to call him… hmmm, wonder where that comes from?) are going to ‘keep the economic situation in mind’ when planning for their big day. They’re not going to go all out, it seems, like Diana did when she married Prince Charles back in 1981. Their wedding cost a reported £40m or so.

However, this is a different era and with so many big names coming along to the wedding bash and with the threat of terrorism lurking, more than £20m could be spent on security alone.

I say go for it. Who cares? They’re hardly normal people and they deserve a big do. I’m sure Kate has been dreaming about this day since she was a teenager putting pictures of William up on her walls. She’s waited for nearly a decade, she should be awarded the crown… and one day she might actually be queen!

Completely off the point now but… I wish I had her wedding budget! Her wedding dress alone could cost a couple of hundred thousand pounds. If only!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Prince William and Kate to get hitched… wish I had that kind of money to splash out on our wedding!”

  1. Pat Aust Says:

    I spent my Junior year at St. Andrews in Scotland so am into British royalty and their lives to my friends astonishment as I care zip for Hollywood. Let’s hope their marriage is successful. At least they both have the same education and age. That should help!

    • carmentheaussie Says:

      I think they certainly have a better chance of having a successful marriage than Diana and Charles did – at least William and Kate have been courting for nine years already! I think with Diana and Charles it was only a few months!

  2. Pat Aust Says:

    I spent my Junior year at St. Andrews Univ in Scotland so am into British royalty and their lives to my friends’ confusion as I care XIP for Hollywood. Let’s hope their marriage is successful. At least they both have the same education, alma mater, and age. That should help!

Leave a Reply

